Previously known as Malaysia Students Department was a department established by the Government of Malaysia to manage the welfare of Malaysian students studying abroad. As time passed, Education Malaysia is now becoming a one stop centre for all inquiries concerning Malaysia education, and hence, aligned with the expansion of its functions.

Education Malaysia Chicago was established to cater the needs for United States Midwest region. 12 states under EMC’s purview are Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wisconsin.